Feeling stronger!

I have gotten through a few bad days and still have not had a drink! I’m feeling stronger again. I have stopped thinking about how I can drink if I just stick to one or two drinks (which I cannot do) or how I will just drink in social situations (which will end in embarrassment). I am back on track. I know I can never drink again.

We went of for dinner last night with a couple we have met here in Chiang Mai. After dinner we sat in a bar and listened to a band. I would be lying if I said it was easy, because it wasn’t and I was ready to go home about two hours before everyone else. And when they finished their drinks I would say to hubby time to go home and before you knew someone else had a drink and then everyone had a drink and I was waiting for people to finish again. I finally got home at 00:45.

BUT the best thing is I managed it with out succumbing to drink. It is not easy being sober when everyone else is getting tipsy. I am still a bit quiet and find it hard to converse with people sometimes because I am used to having a few drinks to remove my inhibitions!

Our journey takes us onward and upwards tomorrow. We have a bus ride to Chiang Khong near the border of Laos and then on the 10th we are doing a two day boat trip to Luang Prabang in Laos. Looking forward to seeing Laos! Here is a few snaps from the Chiang Mai area in Thailand.

One thought on “Feeling stronger!

Leave a Reply

